It’s not very gangster to be boring

“So, tell me something interesting about yourself,” says every guy who’s ever hit on me.

“I like panda bears.”

His eyes say: “Doesn’t every person on this planet love pandas?”

And his mouth says: “Oh, that’s interesting.”

To be honest, I’ve always thought I’m an interesting person.  That was until I met some more people and found that they were just like me or maybe even slightly more interesting. Such is life. We’re all interesting, we’re all unique.

In a world full of exciting people, how does one break out of the boring box? One way could be to convert to normalcy and become the anti-boredom by becoming completely plain. Another could be taking up hobbies like extreme ironing or snail breading. That way you could demonstrate your talents whilst climbing Kilimanjaro or talk for hours about the intricacies of insect sex.

When I was in grade six or so, our science teacher told us to analyse a Calvin and Hobbes cartoon. In the cartoon, Calvin feels insignificant when looking at the stars. Our task, quite a daunting one for someone at such a fragile age, was to argue whether Calvin is special or not.

I hated speeches so the best option was to opt-out and bunk school. It had to be done. The speech was, however, for marks. So after much deliberation I wrote speech that can be summarised as the following:

1) The universe is fucking huge

2) You’re tiny and insignificant

3) But, there is only one of you and (as far as I know) there always will be only that one you

4) And it’s not size that counts, it’s what you do with it.

It’s not very gangster to be boring.  But it’s even less gangster to be fake or pretend to be interesting. I often hear people say “just be yourself”. What their forgetting is that “myself” is a combination of influences, experiences and genes from different people and places. It’s nearly impossible to just be myself without being just like everyone else. I don’t know about you, but I’ve decided to choose who I want to be every day. Like a chameleon, but just more trustworthy.

4 thoughts on “It’s not very gangster to be boring

  1. Hee hee, I clicked in the name box and it came up with orwell, so that is my name today. Love you and miss you estee pieeeeeeeeee. I’m going to thornfest to film 500 billion bands and stuff and stuff. Whats up and new in your life? How is week one of drudgery? xxx Dené

  2. Sham, insect sex is such a cool thing to say/write/type that I just couldn’t resist. And yes I like pandas, who doesn’t? 🙂

    Orwell: Bonjour mon amie! I miss miss you too lovely lady 🙂 Haha this week has been crazy and I’m super exhausted! Hoping it will clam down a bit. It will make a journalist out of me yet 🙂 How are you? Yey Thornfest! Go Dené! Proud of you! Hows Olive and Warren?

Say something

